Home > Idea Spread > Approach for Idea Processing

Approach for Idea Processing

[tweetmeme]

Have you ever found a key stuck “on” on your cell phone or some other electronic device?  What happens?  It drains your battery very quickly because it’s constantly on.  Lately, this is exactly how I feel.  My mind is processing so much thought, so many ideas for so much of the day that I’m exhausted at the end of the day (not very good for being an attentive mother and wife at home) and I’m not sure that it produces the best quality ideas in the end, either.

Following are some approaches I’m employing to address this new current state:

Approach A – Write it Down:

I started this blog.  This was my first approach to addressing the craziness of ideas in my mind.  It serves as an outlet to capture and organize thoughts & ideas (drafts are awesome to use) and then to invite others to contribute to formulating those ideas further.  Specifically, I’m working on these two ideas:

Idea #1: How Do Ideas Spread Virally?

Idea #2 – Making the Most of How You Are Wired

Approach B – Focus:

I believe this thought came to me in the middle of the night last night (thus the need for approach A).  Try to pick ONE idea each morning and just focus on that one idea for the day.  It will morph throughout the day as connections are made, but allow the mind to chew one idea.  I haven’t tried this yet, but hope that it will help to produce better quality idea-formation by allowing the time for each idea.

I read somewhere (wish I could find the reference and will add it once I do find it again) that successful CEOs / leaders only focus on one or two things per day.  More and more evidence has been shared that “multi-tasking” isn’t really productive at all, it’s draining.  This seems like something worth exploring more.

Approach C – Quiet the Mind:

Sometimes, you just need to turn it off!  This approach came in a conversation with my friend Tony Elliott – Meditation.  I should find a process for meditating and use that at an appropriate time each evening to Quiet the Mind and enable me to be more “present” at home.  I still like this idea and plan to find a process, but it needs to be quick if it will be realistic for me to use it daily.

As I begin to focus on finding innovative / start-up organizations as an initial learning partner, I think it will be especially important to develop good tactics for improving the quality of ideation, speed to results, and ability to stay sane!  It’s an exciting direction and consistent with what I know about myself and believe it will provide an opportunity to put the brightest of me into action.  I am thankful for living in one of the most entrepreneurial areas in the US and innovative city in the world!  (Denver/Boulder 19 of 25 world’s most inventive cities – home to inventors producing substantial number of quality patents.)

Categories: Idea Spread Tags:
  1. April 9, 2010 at 6:54 am

    Hmmm, you know, I have the same problem. Too many thoughts going through my head all day – ideas, inventions, how things work, etc – that it’s sometimes hard to “turn them off.”

    I, too, feel pretty drained later in the day because of this. I pretty much have to refocus my attention on something else such as cooking or cleaning.

    Never knew that about CEO’s 🙂 I figured it would have been the other way around. Good post!

    • April 9, 2010 at 8:33 am

      Thanks for the comments (& the validation, too). I have to say that starting the blog and using this as a tool to capture, organize and do something purposeful with my thoughts has made a huge difference.

      As for the cooking – YES, I can totally get into that as a way to refocus attention and engage with my family. Now cleaning, well … that’s a different story for me :).

      • April 9, 2010 at 6:55 pm

        lol, well I enjoy your blog and hope to continue seeing new posts in the coming future. Keep it up 🙂

      • April 10, 2010 at 10:33 am

        Thanks – it’s great to get some positive feedback since I’m so new to this blogging thing. I love the outlet of blogging and look forward to more interaction with others through this medium and twitter.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

