Home > social media > ROI of Social Investment … Beware of No “R” on the “I”

ROI of Social Investment … Beware of No “R” on the “I”

[tweetmeme]

So, I’m learning to be more disciplined in the careful use of word choice, but I also can’t help but be aware of how this “head-first-dive” is also sucking and draining my time.  Here I sit, since 3:15 this morning (it’s now 5:57) with full intentions to work on my final paper for a class, but I’ve probably only mustered 15 minutes worth of work on that priorityprocrastination!

Ok, so maybe I did learn some new things about and via Twitter, I did find some new interesting people to follow, and added some new LinkedIn connections….but it’s NOT what I planned to do this morning, NOT why I set my alarm for 3 AM!  (hubby hates it when I do that)

DigitalTonto recently posted an example of ROI of using social media, sharing the cost of time invested by Pat, the Artist.  We see how Pat obtains value from his social investment (ex’s: overall sales and even selling a piece to Barack Obama) .  What I’m now cautious about is the drain on time and therefore cost.

I often find myself describing time as a commodity:

  • Spent it wisely!
  • People will “spend” their time on what they value.
  • Every spend is a trade-off for something else we could be doing:

Do I workout in the wee hours of the morning or do I write a blog post, or do I get some laundry done?

We must watch out for Investment without Return and find an appropriate balance to leveraging social media – taking control of these tools without losing control.

Categories: social media Tags: ,
  1. April 6, 2010 at 9:46 am

    You know, it’s like anything else in our lives and just one more thing to prioritize. The difference nowadays is there are a multitude of new and exciting ways to be entertained or waste time, and it seems to be increasing if not accelerating.

    Twitter at least is a social activity, encouraging two way “conversations” whereas video games or hours of TV (including watching 6 hours of sports: football, baseball, or worst of all Golf!)is more consumption oriented. But social activities, even in person, can be a big waste of time as well.

    I don’t think there’s anything special about Twitter or Facebook with respect to their capacities to waste our time vs other more traditional “past times”, other than that they are much more shiny, fun and interactive. It’s like people watching at the mall but you can hear all the conversations and not get caught watching.

    So like any other activity vying for our time, we need to prioritize what’s important (values, goals, beliefs, etc.) in our lives and how our actions support or detract from them.

    • April 6, 2010 at 10:16 am

      Great perspective, Mike! It’s almost a technophobic reaction for there to be so much attention on how Twitter (for example) is such a waste of time. Just last night, my husband was busting on me b/c I was “tweetering” in the evening …. while HE was glued to the TV watching nonsense. (At least I’m learning, engaging, and taking direct steps towards my personal vision.)

      Time is a precious resource that we must choose to spend wisely and we must really should pay more attention to the perceived ROI of how that time is spent. There are so many ways in which we waste time on things that really aren’t important to us and then later find ourselves saying “I wish I had done ….”

      • April 6, 2010 at 10:28 am

        Also important is the recognition that “wasting time” can be an outlet or stress relief where the return is relaxation or release.

  2. April 6, 2010 at 10:31 am

    So true – it’s all about your perceived return on the spend.

  3. April 9, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    I want to win a free ticket to Social Media Success Summit http://bit.ly/dBdBR2 (via: @chrisgarrett ) #winSMSS and hope that Chris Garrett will pick me!

  4. April 11, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    I keep googling procrastination —

    hoo boy, your wondering about what to do in the wee hours: did we have this conversation of did I just imagine it or did you just get into my head space?

    …googling procrastination, an oxymoron for our times! This post is enough to make me want to come back!

    • April 12, 2010 at 9:19 am

      You are too funny! I just think there are many of us all learning how to balance this added dimension in our lives. We not only have body, mind, and spirit, but we now also have the virtual world in which we live, need to manage, and must strike a good balance. Thanks for the kind words and I look forward to future comments from you!

  1. April 6, 2010 at 10:36 am

Leave a Reply

